Skip to content
Effective

CGS 29-38:
Weapons in Vehicles

TransportPenaltiesState Pistol Permit

Connecticut General Statutes Section 29-38 governs the possession of weapons in motor vehicles. The statute makes it a criminal offense to knowingly have specified weapons, a pistol or revolver for which a proper permit has not been issued, or a machine gun that has not been registered as required by law in any vehicle owned, operated or occupied by that person, subject to statutory exceptions.[1]

Prohibited Conduct

Under CGS 29-38, any person who knowingly has in any vehicle owned, operated, or occupied by such person any of the following is guilty of a Class D felony:[1]

  • Any "weapon" as defined by the statute
  • Any pistol or revolver for which a proper permit has not been issued under CGS 29-28
  • Any machine gun that has not been registered as required by CGS 53-202

Definition of "Weapon"

The statute defines "weapon" broadly to include:[1]

  • BB guns
  • Blackjacks
  • Metal or brass knuckles
  • Police batons or nightsticks
  • Dirk knives or switch knives
  • Any knife with an automatic spring release mechanism and a blade over one and one-half inches in length
  • Stilettos
  • Any knife with an edged blade four inches or more in length
  • Martial arts weapons or electronic defense weapons
  • Any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument

Permit Holder Vehicle Carry

A person holding a valid Connecticut State Pistol Permit may carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle. The permit effectively authorizes both on-person and in-vehicle carry of pistols and revolvers.[2]

Transport Without a Permit

CGS 29-35 provides exceptions to its carrying restrictions that include transporting a firearm for repair, firearm training or removal of household goods, subject to that section's conditions. It must be unloaded and, if the vehicle has a separate compartment, not readily or directly accessible from the passenger compartment. If the vehicle has no separate compartment, it must be in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.[2]

Exceptions

The statute provides limited exceptions for:[1]

  • Officers charged with the preservation of the public peace while engaged in their official duties
  • Security guards carrying a baton or nightstick in a vehicle while engaged in their official duties
  • Persons enrolled in and currently attending a martial arts school, with official verification, while transporting a martial arts weapon to or from the school or an authorized event or competition
  • Certified martial arts instructors while transporting a martial arts weapon to or from the school or an authorized event or competition

Penalties

A violation of CGS 29-38 is a Class D felony, punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000. Probation is normally limited to 3 years, but the court may impose up to 5 years at its discretion.[1] The statute applies to anyone who "knowingly" has the prohibited items in the vehicle, meaning the prosecution must prove that the defendant was aware of the weapon's presence.

Verification

5 of 5 factual claims on this page were matched to their source text as of 2026-10-15.

Show the claims
Factual claims on this page and their verification status
ClaimTypeStatusSourceChecked
CGS 29-38Source text: # § 29-38 Weapons in vehicles Weapons in vehicles. Penalty. Exceptions. (a) Any person who knowingly has, in any vehicle owned, operated or occupied by such peSTATverified against sourceNone2026-10-14
Section 29-38Source text: # § 29-38 Weapons in vehicles Weapons in vehicles. Penalty. Exceptions. (a) Any person who knowingly has, in any vehicle owned, operated or occupied by such peSTATverified against sourceNone2026-10-14
CGS 29-28Source text: # § 29-28 Permit for sale at retail of firearms Permit for sale at retail of firearms. Permit to carry pistol or revolver. Confidentiality of name and address STATverified against sourceNone2026-10-15
CGS 53-202Source text: # § 53-202 Machine guns Machine guns. (a) As used in this section: (1) “Machine gun” shall apply to and include a weapon of any description, loaded or unloadedSTATverified against sourceNone2026-10-14
CGS 29-35Source text: # § 29-35 Carrying of pistol or revolver without permit prohibited Carrying of pistol or revolver without permit prohibited. Knowingly carrying any firearm witSTATverified against sourceNone2026-10-14